Judges | The Irish Laboratory Awards

Judging Panel

An independent panel of recognised and expert judges, drawn from academia, business and broader related sectors will determine the winners of The Irish Laboratory Awards.

Our focus is to deliver a balanced judging assessment from industry leaders who will bring their extensive knowledge, enthusiasm and expertise to the judging process ensuring that the winning entries are truly outstanding and worthy of receiving a trophy.


The panel is carefully selected to ensure the Awards judging process is fair and objective. The judges are bound by a strict confidentiality agreement and are required to declare any conflict of interest in entries over which they deliberate, in which case that entry will be reallocated. The integrity of this process lies at the very heart of all that we do.

A comprehensive judging process has been put together to decide the worthy winners of The Irish Laboratory Awards.

Judging Coordinator

Matt Moran - Director, BioPharmaChem Ireland


Matthew Moran is Director of BioPharmaChem Ireland.  He graduated in Chemistry at Trinity College Dublin in 1980 and in Chemical Engineering at University College Dublin in 1981; he holds an MBA also from University College Dublin (Smurfit School of Business). 

Judging Panel

Prof John Cassidy - Assistant Head of School, School of Chemical and Pharmaceutical Sciences, TU Dublin


John Cassidy graduated from Dublin Institute of Technology with a degree in Applied Sciences in 1981. After this he graduated with a PhD in Analytical Chemistry from the University of Utah in 1985.

Marie Coggins – Lecturer, School of Physics & Centre for Climate, and Air Pollution Studies, NUI Galway


Dr. Coggins is a lecturer in Exposure Science at the School of Physics, NUI, Galway (NUIG) where she is also Academic Director of the BSc Environmental Health and Safety programme.

Peter Doran - Director, UCD Clinical Research Centre


Prof. Peter Doran earned his BSc. from Dublin City University in 1998 and his PhD from University College Dublin in 2001. He is associate Dean for Research at the UCD School of Medicine, Director of the Ireland East Hospital Group research network and Director of the UCD Clinical Research Centre (CRC).

Gerald Fleming  - Honorary President, Irish Science Teachers’ Association


Meteorologist Gerald Fleming retired as Head of Forecasting from Met Éireann in December 2017. He took out B.Sc and M.Sc degrees in Experimental Physics from University College Dublin, following which he joined Met Éireann in 1980.

Kieran Harvey - Director, Laboratory Operations, ICON Laboratory Services


Kieran Harvey is currently Director of Operations at ICON central laboratories at Dublin, responsible for all laboratory activities within their Dublin site while liaising with their other sites across the ICON global network of central laboratories.

Dr. Fionnuala Hickey – Research Fellow & Lab Manager, Trinity College Dublin & Executive Committee Member, Irish Research Staff Association


Fionnuala Hickey is Laboratory Manager and Research Fellow at the Trinity Centre for Health Sciences at Tallaght Hospital. She is also an executive committee member of the Irish Research Staff Association.

Mike Lyons – Head of School, School of Chemistry – TCD


Mike Lyons is Professor in Physical Chemistry and Head of the School of Chemistry, Trinity College Dublin. He is an investigator in the AMBER National Centre and the CRANN Research Institute TCD.

Dr. Yvonne Nolan – Senior Lecturer & Director of BSc Neuroscience, Dept of Anatomy and Neuroscience, UCC


Dr. Yvonne Nolan is a Senior Lecturer, Director of the BSc Neuroscience, Funded Investigator in APC Microbiome Ireland, and a Science Foundation Ireland Investigator in University College Cork.

For all enquiries, contact our team.

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • YouTube

T: 01 407 0595

E: info@labawards.ie

© The Irish Laboratory Awards 2019/2020.

All Rights Reserved.