top of page

Past Judges

All submissions to The Irish Laboratory Awards are judged by an independent panel of recognised and distinguished judges, drawn from academia, business and broader related sectors.

View a sample list of our past judges below and judge us by who judges you.

Dr. Fiona Blighe
Scientific Programme Manager, Science Foundation Ireland

Dr. Suzanne Bracken
Translational Research Manager, Clinical Research Development Ireland


Prof. John Cassidy
Assistant Head of School, School of Chemical and Pharmaceutical Sciences, TU Dublin

Dr. Colin Clarke
Principal Investigator, NIBRT


Marie Coggins
Lecturer, School of Physics & Centre for Climate, and Air Pollution Studies, NUI Galway

Mary Dempsey
Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering at NUI Galway

Peter Doran
Director, UCD Clinical Research Centre


Dr. Adrienne Fleming

Lecturer in Science, Technological University Dublin

Gerald Fleming
Honorary President, Irish Science Teachers’ Association

Mark Glynn
Head of Learning Innovation Unit, Dublin City University


Finnian Hanrahan

Scientific Programme Manager, Research Centres, Science Foundation Ireland

Kieran Harvey
Director, Laboratory Operations, ICON Laboratory Services

Dr. Phil Hemmingway
Programme Manager, Science Foundation Ireland

Dr. Fionnuala Hickey

Research Development Officer, Faculty of Science & Health, Dublin City University

Patrick Hobbs

Editor, Irish Chemical News & Chemistry Ireland, Former President, Institute of Chemistry of Ireland

Bernadette Jackson

President, Academy of Clinical Science and Laboratory Medicine


Lisa Keating

Scientific Programme Manager, Programmes Directorate, Science Foundation Ireland


Niamh Keon

Senior Biotechnology Analyst, Research & Innovation, Enterprise Ireland


Prof. Mike Lyons
Head of School of Chemistry, TCD

Frank Meinderink
Enterprise Excellence Lead, Ipsen Manufacturing Ireland

Matt Moran
Director, BioPharmaChem Ireland

Mary Mullaghy
Former Chairperson, Irish Science Teachers' Association

Dr. Janice Murtagh
Associate Director Medical Affairs, MSD Human Health

Yvonne Nolan

Professor in Neuroscience, University College Cork

Conor O'Brien
President, Irish Science Teachers Association

Irene Regan
President, Academy of Clinical Science & Laboratory Medicine

Dr. Andrew Roche
Scientific Director, Global Validation, ScientificAffairs, ICON Laboratory Services

Siobhan Roche
Partnerships Manager, Science Foundation Ireland

Paul Simmons
Technical Manager, Enfer Labs

Prof Gavin Walker
Bernal Chair of Pharmaceutical Engineering, University of Limerick

bottom of page